45 Reviews for NutriBullet RX - Page 3

Sort by: Date | Highest Rated | Lowest Rated | Most Relevant

Sort by:
Newest

1 2 3 4 5


Info that I wish was available to me

Dec 4, 2015 | | San Francisco, CA

Actually, the reason I took the time and effort to write such a detailed review (July 19) in the first place was because that information wasn't available to me before I bought the Rx.

For example, I couldn't find any information about the actual times involved in making 3 consecutive batches of soup. I only knew that I could have hot soup "in minutes." It was only afterwards that I was able to conclude that I'm better off doing the actual heating in a microwave or stovetop, or that I like making a "soup base" out of difficult to liquefy ingredients and then add chunkier ingredients, spices, etc., later on, while taste-testing and being more creative (and having fun) along the way.

If you read between the lines, you might better decide for yourself whether the 600 or 900, or some other product completely, will do what you want, now knowing the specifics from my review. It may very well be that the 600 ($60 plus) or 900 ($120) will make you just as happy as the Rx ($180).

I had read all about the "gasket problem" and other malfunctions that many have experienced but was puzzled by the many who have had no such problems. I wondered, as an engineer, exactly what was causing the difference. I don't know for sure, since I haven't experienced any problems at all myself, even after all this time, but I think that I (and Paul) have provided you a plausible explanation.

As I said in my review, I found that I like using the soup pitcher. It's not air-tight, so can never "blow a gasket" and I can simply pour out the top without having to remove the blade assembly first. If making another batch (which could be completely different than the first), I don't have to fiddle around with cleaning the blade and cup lip, to avoid leakage, before reassembling. Keep in mind that the other models don't have an equivalent open-top container. The $60 difference between the 900 and Rx may well be worth it to me just because of the convenience, utility and capacity of the soup pitcher.

My purpose was not to merely promote the Rx, as some have concluded, and which really doesn't benefit me at all either way, but to provide much more specific information than I had available to me before finally deciding to buy it and then using it for awhile myself to see how it benefits me personally. I could have just not written any review at all (which would have been much, much easier) and simply continued being personally happy with my purchase but I hoped that my experiences might be useful to someone else trying to make a purchasing decision or who was currently experiencing a problem.

Everyone should, of course, decide for themselves whether or not ANY product will benefit them personally but, if all you have to go by are glossy infomercials or widely differing reviews, then you're back where I was when I was trying to decide on the Rx, an uncomfortable and perplexing state of mind.

Nightmare to use

Nov 30, 2015 | | N.Berwick, ME

Hi, I have had my NutriBullet RX for about 6 months. It has stopped working a number of times, the cup turns on the machine and it looks as if it is going to pop out of the base and it leaks. I called the company they said it was the blade and sent a new one for the cost of shipping. I used it last night it started turning I held it and it just quit. I feel like for the money I paid that it should not be this difficult to have it work. I am going to call the company and try to return it.

Worked for 8 to 10 times

Nov 3, 2015 | | Jamestown, TN

After 30 days, I am unable to press down to engage the motor.

I am 6 ft. and 190 lbs. I am not the problem. Save your money.

So many blades

Oct 30, 2015 | | Phoenix, AZ

In less than a year I've had four blade assemblies, two leaked upon receipt, cracked small container and base exchange. Included is a book of recipes I can't use due to my allergies. Now when I called, they say you must have at least two cups liquid for use. How can you make coconut butter like that? If I use regular ice from a tray in my freezer, 4 cubes is too much with a cup of water, frozen berries and avocado for a dessert.

Dissatisfied with Nutribullet RX

Aug 3, 2015 | | Houston, TX

May 2015, purchased Nutribullet RX and by the end of July 2015 motor started smoking (used it at least 3 times). Made exchange at the store, had it two weeks, the seal was eaten by the blades and liquid leaked all over. Had to return it to the store and get my money back.

I’m disappointed in the product, did not hold up to expectations.

Re: gasket problems

Jul 19, 2015 | | San Francisco

I haven't had any problems with leakage or a loose gasket but the following observations may help those who have:

I noticed that the lip of the soup pitcher is wider than that on the mixing cups and so contacts more of the gasket. The lips of the cups, in contrast, contact only the outer edge of the gasket. They should have designed the cup lips with a smaller diameter and/or a wider lip to contact the gasket closer to its center rather than just its outer edge.

The fill line of the soup pitcher is about halfway up, whereas the fill line of the cups are nearer the top. Perhaps one should be conservative and not fill the cups up as much.

I have been wiping the lips of both the cups and pitcher with vegetable shortening to provide some lubrication. This is the same principle used when you change your car's oil filter: you should wipe the rubber gasket with a bit of the motor oil so that a dry gasket doesn't get hung up (too much friction) when you hand-tighten it against the mating flange.

I've been using the soup pitcher more than the cups since I can attach the blade assembly before filling it, and thus have a chance to look down inside to verify that the gasket is in place where it should be and has not become somehow mangled or distorted (unlikely but it's still comforting to verify visually).

I suppose one could verify with the cups too by looking up through the cup while the blade has just been attached and is still above (not as convenient as just looking down into the empty pitcher).

I ordered 4 extra gaskets (after-market) for $9 from thepartsbiz.com. You can also order 2 gaskets from Amazon and others for $18.

Nutriliving recommends replacing the blade assembly every 6 months, which seems excessive to me but, nevertheless, you can buy extra blade assemblies from them for $15 + $5 S&P. (If you replace the blade this often, presumably you wouldn't have to worry about the gasket, since you would have a new one after 6 months.)

I haven't had any of the problems others have complained about and have been satisfied that the Nutribullet Rx does what I expected it to do when I bought it.

A few more general comments:

I originally bought my Rx to inspire me to make a greater variety of soups from fresh, more nutritious ingredients that I've been neglecting to use quite often enough, sorry to admit, rather than lazily just opening a can. I wanted to make more regular use of ingredients like kale, chard, ginger, peppers, meats, fruits, nuts and seeds without necessarily highlighting their particular individual textures.

I've lately been using the Rx to make a larger quantity (multi-servings) of a nutritious, smooth "soup base," to which I can add, over the course of the following several days, additional "chunkier" ingredients to entirely change the nature of the day's soup. And, of course, even the "base" changes every time too. Every day becomes a new adventure in soup variety. So far, I haven't made anything I haven't enjoyed and which, I'm proud to say, aren't even available to be enjoyed anywhere else.

When adding new ingredients to the base, I can either just chop them up by hand, if I want large, easily identifiable chunks, or, which may seem to some like decadent duplication, use my original Magic Bullet to chop things to a nice texture without completely liquefying​ them.

The Magic Bullet is much smaller, with much less power, which, at first glance, may seem to be an obvious disadvantage (on paper) compared to the Rx or other similar machines, but it turns out to be naturally easier to deal with the smaller quantity of ingredients I use to augment the soup base. It is also designed to be pulsed to chop to the consistency you desire, more than continually run to liquefy. The Magic Bullet is also very quick and easy to clean, in sharp contrast to a large food processor or other motorized device designed to handle larger quantities.

The ingredients can be easily (maybe even more easily, quickly and quietly) cooked in the microwave or, as I usually prefer, on the stovetop, since I'm not usually in a huge rush and can enjoy taste-testing along the way, to add spices, salt, yogurt, cheese, Worcestershire​ or hot sauce, alcohol (sherry, wine, etc.), or any additional ingredients, as I may be inspired to do at that particular moment.

As such, I haven't been using the "soup-making" feature of the Rx, since it results in a too-smooth soup for my tastes and I would have to decide beforehand exactly what I'm going to make before adding any ingredients. The method I've come to enjoy most is as described above, in which I can have a brand new adventure every day as I go along.

Of course, if you've settled on favorite soup or health-drink recipes you enjoy, you can still continue to make those at any time without feeling that they've been supplanted with the new possibilities.

I don't use my Rx primarily for health reasons, since I usually eat fairly healthily anyway and don't have any worrying health problems. But I do enjoy the larger repertoire of soups that it has opened up. My goals are more gastronomic than health-driven. The health benefits are just an automatic additional benefit to the delicious variety!

The Feb. 7 review from Paul warns against overfilling and suggests that pressure can then build up inside the cups, blowing the gasket. I think that this is a key insight relating to the gasket problem some have experienced, and why I've never had any problem using the soup pitcher, which is NOT air-tight (and thus can never "blow a gasket") but which nevertheless has never leaked out the lid.

Cleanup is equally easy with any of the cups or the pitcher so I don't find it a disadvantage to use the pitcher, even when making a small quantity. Cleanup is just as easy so I don't necessarily have to use the smaller cup just because I'm blending a smaller quantity. The blade is the same anyway, so it doesn't matter the level (height) of ingredients within the cup.

As I mentioned earlier in my post, by using vegetable shortening to lubricate the lips of the cups or pitcher, I've never had any leaks with simple, and not particularly forceful, hand-tightening; I've never had to use the blade-removal tool, neither to tighten nor loosen the blade assembly.

It saddens me to read about the problems others have had and completely understand and sympathize with their anger and frustration, causing them to thereby conclude that the entire product is an expensive, worthless hunk of junk. I only wish that they had had the experience and satisfaction I've enjoyed--I'm very glad that I've been so lucky.

Noise level and cool-off rest time before repeated use:

Considering the 1700-watt, 2.3 horsepower, motor, the noise level is what I would expect from any equivalently powerful shop tool or appliance: think table saw, wood router, belt sander or shop vac.

With shop tools, of course, using hearing protection is taken for granted as standard practice. Since the Rx cycle lasts for 1 minute, or 7 minutes for the soup cycle, you don't need a cumbersome shop or gun-range earmuff-type protector but can use more convenient plugs that fit into your ears, soft plastic or foam (available at any hardware store). Or, you can listen to music on your iPhone for a few minutes, since the standard earphones cut down the outside noise too. It needn't be such a big deal that it ultimately determines whether or not you buy the product.

The company warns (right in their user guide) against overheating in soup mode without resting 1 minute between each 7-minute cycle and not running it for more than 2 consecutive cycles without cooling for 30-60 minutes before beginning the 3rd cycle.

On the other hand, running in the normal "Nutriblast" (blending/extracting) mode seems to require only a 1-minute cool down between each 1-minute cycle. So, if you want to make say, 3 or more batches of soup without waiting 30-60 minutes, you could simply just use your microwave or stovetop to do the job more easily in much less than 30-60 minutes.

Even if you're only making 2 consecutive soup batches (2 x 7 minutes + 1 minute cooling = 15 minutes), you may still be better off using the Nutriblast mode (2 x 1 minute + 1 minute cooling = 3 minutes) because you could do the same heating job in less than 12 minutes (15 - 3 minutes) using a microwave or stovetop. It seems to me the soup mode is a convenience only if you want to make a single batch of soup without having to use another container or pan (but, for me, washing another single container is not that big a deal and takes much less than 12 minutes).

About the fill-lines on the cups (~3/4-way up) vs. the fill-line on the soup pitcher (~1/2-way up), you may be tempted to think of the lines as applying solely to the liquid that you initially add, but you also need to consider that the solid ingredients, once liquefied (and heated by blade friction), can add considerably to the final level and overpressure created during blending. You can always add more liquid after blending so you don't need to risk pushing it right to the safety limit every time; being more conservative is always better, I would say.

Good Device

Jul 8, 2015 | | Canada

I have been using my NutriBullet RX since they became available. Not a single issue. Surprised by complaints in product reviews.

Where in the world do you get another gasket?

May 4, 2015 | | San Jose, CA

I agree with all the other unhappy customers. The gasket comes off and it's a major mess to clean up. Then the gasket gets chopped up with your shake. Why is there no information to replace the gasket, better yet, why do they not include a lifetime supply? This unit is going back, what a piece of crap.

NutriBullet RX, broke after four months

May 1, 2015 | | Baltimore, MD

The motor is leaking grease from the top and is over heating. The motor cuts off and smokes. From past reviews I do not think I will have any luck with customer service. Very disappointed in the product.

Great machine

Apr 30, 2015 | | New York

I waited a while to write a review because I wanted to make sure I didn't have any problems with it. We've had it for a couple of months now and it is great! I have had no problems at all with leaking, like some people said. I follow the directions and don't fill it beyond the max fill line. Also, I don't leave it when it's running. Sometimes, I notice that the cup is turning a little, on its own as it blends, so I hold the handle so it can't turn. We make smoothies for ourselves and our grandchildren. We make healthy smoothies and use a lot of frozen fruit in them. I let bananas get really ripe, then freeze them in pieces in baggies. It works great and the smoothies are nice and cold. I have also made some of the soups and they are delicious! My husband is kind of picky and he loved all the soups. My son has a Nutri-Ninja and he says our NutriBulletRx is superior in every way. There is no lumps or unpulverized veggies or fruit. I put almonds, cashews, chia, celery, you name it, and it's all blended into a nice smooth drink. We love it.

What's with the bad reviews?

Apr 26, 2015 | | New York, NY

This product has been nothing but an extreme pleasure. The ease, the recipe book that comes with it and the clean up afterwards is just so simple. The rubber piece does come off at times, but not frequently unless you're putting it on incorrectly. So many interesting recipes and they come out like juice, so tasty and fresh. We have two issues that are not that big of deal.

One: it's loud so if you have sensitive ears it may bother you and if you're making soup it's loud for about 10 minutes. BUT: the soup comes out amazing and hot. We just made a sweet potato, carrot and avocado soup. We just put in 2 raw peeled sweet potatoes, carrots and avocado and bam!Fresh hot soup.

Two: we noticed it's not blending the juice as good after many many uses. It still comes out like juice, but not as good as when it was new. In addition, it makes the juice foamy sometimes. Otherwise great product!


1 2 3 4 5


Write a Review

Bottom Line*

Related Products